Business Guide to Sales Tax in Rhode Island

Flag of Rhode Island
Rhode Island Sales Tax Rate:
7%
Local taxes:
No
Website:
Rhode Island Department of Revenue
Economic nexus thresholds:
$100,000 in annual sales or 200 separate sales transactions
In effect on:
July 1, 2019

So, you need to know about sales tax in The Ocean State. Look no further!

Whether you’ve fully set up shop in Rhode Island, or simply ship there once in a while, it’s important you know whether your business is liable to their sales taxes. This guide will tell you everything you need to know, plus direct you to the right places for handling any sales tax responsibility you may have.


What’s taxable in Rhode Island?

Services

Services include professional services provided by lawyers, architects, landscapers, etc. The definition can be pretty wide, and many exemptions can apply. Your best bet would be to check with Rhode Island Department of Revenue to confirm your service is even taxable.


Tangible products

Tangible products, as you might guess, are physical items. Rhode Island taxes most tangible products, but there can be exemptions! To be absolutely clear about which products are subject to sales tax, and which are exempt, check Rhode Island Department of Revenue.


Do you have nexus in Rhode Island?

The word “nexus” refers to a commercial connection in the state. Nexus determines the following questions for a state tax agency: Do you do business here, what kind, and how much? And when you do have nexus, that means you’re obligated to collect tax on your sales there.

So the first question for you to answer is whether you have nexus in Rhode Island.

You probably have nexus in Rhode Island if any of the following points describe your business:

  • A physical presence in Rhode Island: a store, an office, a warehouse or distribution center, storage space, you, an employee, a representative, etc.
  • Any affiliate businesses or individuals in the Rhode Island, which generate sales.
  • Online ads or links on a Rhode Island-based website, which channels potential customers and new business.
  • A significant amount of sales in Rhode Island within twelve months. *

* This is called an economic nexus, a sales tax nexus determined by economic activity, i.e. - the amount of sales you make in a particular state. Any kind of economic activity could trigger the nexus, once your total sales reach a certain threshold amount.

The threshold in Rhode Island is $100,000 in annual sales or 200 separate sales transactions, whichever your business reaches first. To learn more about how this works, check out the Ultimate Guide to US Economic Nexus.


Notice and Report laws

Rhode Island has what’s called “Notice & Report” tax laws for out-of-state sellers. Remote businesses above a given threshold must first notify certain customers that they need to pay taxes to the Rhode Island revenue office. Then the businesses must also report the list of customers (and the amount of tax they owe) directly to the Rhode Island revenue office.

The Notice & Report threshold in Rhode Island is $100,000 in annual sales. If you pass this threshold, you do not need to register for sales tax in Rhode Island, but you do have to comply with the “notice and report” burdens above. Your other option is to go ahead and register for a sales tax permit and follow the normal rules, which may be easier in the long run.


How to register for sales tax in Rhode Island

Okay, so you have nexus! Now what?

The next crucial step in complying with Rhode Island sales tax is to register for a sales tax permit. It’s actually illegal to collect tax without a permit. So to get all your ducks in a row, start with tax registration first.

You can find directions about how to register in Rhode Island on their Department of Revenue website.

When registering for sales tax, you should have at least the following information at hand:

  • Your personal contact info
  • Your business contact info
  • Social security number (SSN) or Employer Identification Number (EIN)
  • Business entity (sole-proprietor, LLC, S-Corp, etc.)
  • Bank account info (account number and routing number) where you’ll deposit the collected sales tax

How to collect sales tax in Rhode Island

Now it’s time to tackle the intricate stuff! Tax rates can vary based on the location of your business and the location of your customer, plus the levels of sales tax that apply in those specific locations.

The state-wide sales tax in Rhode Island is 7%.

Rhode Island has a destination-based sales tax system, * so you have to pay attention to the varying tax rates across the state. Charge the tax rate of the buyer’s address, as that’s the destination of your product or service.

* Important to note for remote sellers: While this is generally true for Rhode Island, some state have peculiar rules about tax rates for remote sellers. Contact the state’s Department of Revenue to be sure.


Sales tax on shipping charges in Rhode Island

Rhode Island does apply sales tax to shipping costs. The rule of thumb is that if what you’re selling is subject to tax, then the shipping charges are also subject to tax. (And vice versa is true: If the item being shipped is not subject to sales tax, neither are the shipping charges.)

If you happen to be shipping products that are both taxable and nontaxable, then shipping charges for the entire shipment are subject to tax.


When to file taxes in Rhode Island

When you register for sales tax, Rhode Island will assign you a certain filing frequency. You’ll be asked to file and pay sales tax either monthly, quarterly, or annually.

Usually the frequency they choose is based on the amount of sales tax you collect from buyers in Rhode Island. High-revenue businesses file more frequently than lower volume businesses, for example.

Rhode Island sales tax returns are due on the 20th day of the month following the reporting period. If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, then your sales tax filing is generally due the next business day.


How to file taxes in Rhode Island

When tax time rolls around in Rhode Island, whether it’s monthly or annually, you must do three things:

  1. Calculate how much sales tax you owe
  2. File a sales tax return
  3. Make a payment

Rhode Island requires that any seller with a sales tax permit file a sales tax return on your due date, even if you don’t have any sales tax to report or pay. Even if you didn’t make a single sale in Rhode Island during the reporting period, you should must do a “zero tax filing.”


Other Rhode Island tax info

Penalties

If you miss a filing or payment deadline, certain penalties can apply. Such a pain! Check the state’s website for up-to-date penalty fees.


Discounts

On a brighter note, you could be eligible for sales tax discounts in Rhode Island! Usually these discounts are designed to save you a bit of money, as a reward for complying with the sales tax system. Check the state’s website for up-to-date discount policies.


Sales Tax Holidays

One final tricky aspect about Rhode Island sales tax are the sales tax holidays. During these days of the year, you aren’t required to charge sales tax, and buyers will expect to not be charged. Check the state’s website for current sales tax holidays.


Related articles


Resources


At Quaderno we love providing helpful information and best practices about taxes, but we are not certified tax advisors. For further help, or if you are ever in doubt, please consult a professional tax advisor or the official Department of Revenue.

Never mess with sales tax again

Let Quaderno automatically calculate sales tax on every sale you make. So you can get back to your business.

Start free trial